A closer look at the new Constitutional post holders

His Majesty the King granted Dhar to appoint heads and Commissioners of the Anti Corruption Commission, Election Commission of Bhutan and the Royal Audit Authority yesterday.

The new ACC Chairperson is the former RCSC Commissioner Kinley Yangzom. She served as a RCSC commissioner from 2009 to 2014.

She joined the civil service in 1988 as a trainee officer and in 1989 became an assistant personnel officer under the Department of School Education. She rose up the ranks to become the head of the Department of School Education.

In 2002 she joined the RCSC as head of the Human Resource Management Division and in 2006 she was appointed as a Commissioner. She has a Masters in Education from the University of New Brunswick in Canada.

The new Auditor General is Tshering Kezang who was serving as the Pemagatshel Dzongda from March 2013. Prior to that he was the Lhuentse Dzongda from 2007 to 2013. However, Tshering Kezang is an old Audit hand having spent most of his career there.

He joined the government in 1989 as a trainee officer and first served with the Ministry of Health and Education as an assistant finance officer from 1990 to 1992. From 1992 to 1995 he was a finance officer. It was from 1995 that he joined the Royal Audit Authority as a senior finance officer.  He then rose to become the assistant auditor general in Tsirang and then the Chief Auditor in Thimphu. It was in 2007 that he became a Dzongda.

He was awarded a Druk Thuksey on 17th December 2003. He has a Masters Degree in Professional Accountancy from ECU in Perth, Australia.

The Chief Election Commissioner Chogyal Dago Rinzin was an Election Commissioner from 2006 to 2015 in the Election Commission of Bhutan (ECB). In terms of seniority he was next in line after the former CEC.

He started his career in the civil service as a trainee officer in 1990 in the Home Ministry. From 1991 to 1998 he rose up to become a senior section officer. From 1998 to 2002 he became the under secretary. From 2002 to 2006 he served as the Sarpang Dungpa. From 2006 he joined the ECB as a Commissioner. He has a P.G Diploma in Development Administration from Thailand. The new CEC has extensive hands on experience conducting several national and local government elections from 2008 to 2013.

In addition to the three heads His Majesty the King also granted Dhars to appoint the ECB and ACC Commissioners.

Former National Housing and Development Corporation (NHDC) CEO Ugyen Tshewang was appointed as an ECB Commissioner.

He started his career in 1994 as an agriculture machinery engineer under the Ministry of Agriculture. He worked in Sarpang and Paro too. He was then transferred to the Department of Urban Development and Engineering Services (DUDES) where he was a chief engineer and an executive engineer. In 2011 he resigned from the civil service to become the CEO of the NHDC. He has a Masters in Irrigation Engineering.

Deki Pema was reappointed as ECB commissioner already having served in that capacity from 2006 till 2015. She started her career as a trainee officer in 1991 in the Ministry of Agriculture. She then rose up the ranks becoming assistant planning officer and planning officer in the PPD. In 2006 she became an ECB Commissioner. Like the CEC Deki Pema also has extensive hands on experience in conducting elections since 2008.

Karma Damcho Nidup appointed as an ACC Commissioner served as the eminent member of the National Council from 2008 to 2015.

She started her career in the then Ministry of Trade and Industry in 1992 as an assistant trade officer. She rose to become an officer in the Foreign Trade Division. She was sent on secondment to His Majesty’s Secretariat from 2007 to 2008.  She has a Masters in Public Administration. She made her debut in the NC in 2008 as an eminent member.

Jamtsho was also appointed as an ACC Commissioner. He was the second most senior official in the RAA and was the Joint Auditor General from January 2015 onwards.

Jamtsho started his career in the RAA as a trainee officer from 1993. Over the years he rose up the ranks to become senior auditor, assistant chief auditor, deputy chief auditor and chief auditor. Prior to his ACC appointment he was the Joint Auditor General. He has a Masters in Chartered Management from Emily Wools College, London School.

He was the recipient of the Druk Thuksey award on the National Day in 2012.

As per the Constitution the heads and Commission members of Constitutional bodies shall be appointed by the Druk Gyalpo from a list of names recommended jointly by the Prime Minister, the Chief Justice of Bhutan, the Speaker, the Chairperson of the National Council and the Leader of the Opposition Party. This process is enshrined in Article 27 (2), Article 24 (2) and Article 25 (2) respectively for the heads and members of ACC, ECB and the RAA.

This was the same process followed in the earlier selection of the RCSC Chairperson and four commission members.



Check Also

Joint Study finds multiple fractures in Right Bank of Punatsangchu I

Left Bank PHPA 1 Last year Bhutan and India agreed to drill multiple rock samples …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *