Former PM, Health Minister and MP repeat primary winnings in Pemagatshel

The voters have once again chosen the Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) candidates in all three constituencies in Pemagatshel. The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) fell short in the number of favorable votes they fetched during the Poll Day for general elections yesterday.

The ex-Prime Minister’s constituency saw voters standing in a long queue to cast their votes, many of the voters were inspired by the pledges made by the DPT during the campaigns.

The former Prime Minister Jigmi Y. Thinley secured 3,742 from Nanong-Shumar constituency of which 2,671were secured through electoral voting machine (EVM) and 1,071 through postal ballots.

PDP candidate Pema Wangchuk secured 1,011votes of which 716 were through EVM and 295 through postal ballots.

Nanong – Shumar constituency has 8,247 registered voters.

The former Health Minister Zangley Dukpa secured 3,591 from Khar-Yurung constituency of which 2,245 were from EVM and 1,346 through postal ballots.

PDP candidate Tashi Norbu secured total votes of 997 votes of which 503 were through EVM and 497 through postal ballot.

The total registered voters in Khar-Yurung are 8,575.

The former DPT MP Choida Jamtsho gained the continuous support again by securing 3,121 votes of which 2,466 were through EVM and 655 through postal ballots. Meanwhile, the PDP candidate managed only 632 votes. He secured 330 through EVM and 302 through postal ballot.

The total registered voters in Nganglam is 6,199.

Check Also

Entrance exam for class 12 pass-outs trying for colleges

After passing class 12, students have to appear for an entrance exam to be shortlisted …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *