In Mongar DPT loses one seat to DNT

The General Round of the National Assembly Election 2018, in Mongar, saw Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) winning 2 seats; Dremedtse-Ngatshang and Kengkhar-Weringla. Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) won the seat in Mongar constituency.

DPT’s candidate, Ugyen Wangdi, won the Dremedtse-Ngatshang seat by securing the highest votes at 5,602 [2,287 votes via the Postal Ballot (PB) and 3,315 votes were counted from the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM)]. DNT’s candidate, Jigme Dorji, got 3,690 votes (1,354 PB +a 2,336 EVM)

Ugyen Wangdi said, “My popularity and relationship with people is the main reason why DPT is so strong in my constituency.”

“I won from my constituency because of my experience and performance in the Parliament for last 10 years.

People like me because of my performance both within and outside parliament and the good work done by the party since 2008,” he added.

Meanwhile, DNT’s candidate, Sherab Gyeltshen, from Mongar secured a total vote of 3,763 votes (1,733 PB + 2,030 EVM). DPT’s candidate, Karma Lhamo, won 3,686 votes (1,864 PB + 1,822 EVM).

Sherab Gyeltshen said, “People voted for me, maybe, because they saw me as the best option and also because they wanted a new party to form the government.”

DPT’s candidate from Kengkhar Weringla, Rinzin Jamtsho, won with 4,385 votes (2,259 PB + 2,126 EVM) DNT’s candidate, Kuenzang Drukpa, secured a total of 3,246 votes (1,646 PB + 1,600 EVM).

Check Also

Changchey Industrial Park in Tsirang faces challenges

The Changchey Industrial Park in Tsirang was planned under the  pilot “CSI Industrial Park” of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *