Media Council formed

The Ministry of Information and Communication has constituted the Media Council as per the ICM Act 2018.

The council members are Rinzin Wangchuk, President of JAB, Tenzing Lamsang, the Editor of The Bhutanese and President of the Media Association of Bhutan representing proprietors of media firms, Executive Director of Bhutan Media foundation, Wangay Dorji Chief Communication Officer of BICMA and Singye Wangmo, Chief Information and media officer of DoIM.

The appointment is in line with the nominations received from the respective offices.

The Council’s role is to promote and protect freedom and independence of the media, serve as a standard setting body to promote and enhance ethical and professional standards amongst journalists and media enterprises for media practitioners.

It will accredit and certify the Journalists practicing in Bhutan and regulate or curtail any harmful, offensive, illegal or antithetical content on the internet and other ICT and Media services, unless otherwise provided under specific provisions in this Act.

The council will set standards and guidelines in accordance with the overall media related codes and standards set by BICMA.

It will hear the complaint and settle the dispute in relation to offences of content not amounting to criminal offences.

It will provide recommendations on matters affecting the media sectors to the Ministry and Regulatory Authority, ensure objective and fair treatment of any person by the media, protect general public and more specifically vulnerable sections of the population such as children and young persons from undesirable influences of all Media services.

There shall be permanent secretariat to the Media Council headed by an Executive level officer appointed by RCSC.

Check Also

Govt considering a few hydro projects as 10,000 MW by 2020 fails to take off

During the Sixth Sitting of the Seventh Session of the Parliament, the Member of Parliament …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *