NC delegation back from India

After a successful eight day Parliamentary visit to India, the 14-member National Council (NC) delegation led by the house’s Chairperson Dr Sonam Kinga returned to Thimphu on August 1.

The team, during their visit to India called on the Hon’ble Speaker of Lok Sabha, Meira Kumar and Hon’ble Minister for External Affairs, Salman Kurshid.

The delegation also met the Hon’ble Deputy Chairperson of Rajya Sabha, Kariya Munda and President of the Indian Council of Cultural Relations, Dr Karan Singh.

During the visit, the delegation conveyed the objective of their visit, soon after the successful completion of Parliamentary elections in Bhutan was to highlight the special significance of Bhutan-India relationship, and also to further strengthen it through regular high level visits and people to people contact.

Delegates had conveyed the appreciation of the people of Bhutan for the kind and generous assistance of the Government of India to Bhutan’s socio-economic development, as well as for the commitment to provide unflinching and steadfast support to Bhutan’s development process, hereafter. The delegation also shared that the National Council would ensure that the Royal Government of Bhutan places the highest of priority in strengthening Bhutan-India relationship.

Her Excellency Meira Kumar, His Excellency Salman Kurshid and other Indian leaders asked the delegation to convey their greetings and deepest respects for His Majesty the King, Her Majesty the Gyaltsuen and His Majesty the Fourth King. They reiterated the commitments of Indian leadership across the political spectrum to strengthen and foster India’s special relationship with Bhutan, and assist Bhutan in her development process.

The Bureau of Parliamentary Studies and Training (BPST) organized a two and half day seminar for the delegation. The seminar included subjects like legislative process, primacy of parliament in democracy, parliamentary devices to raise matters of public importance, the significance and modality of the question hour as mechanism of ensuring government accountability to legislature, functioning of the committees, budgetary process and others.

Eminent Parliamentarians such as Vundavalli Aruna Kumar, S.S. Aluwalia, Mani Shankar Aiyar and senior leaders of BPST spoke and interacted with the delegation.

Check Also

The 15th Convocation Day to be held in RUB colleges

The Royal University of Bhutan (RUB) Vice Chancellor, Nidup Dorji, has confirmed that the convocation …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *