PDP dominates Haa in the NA Primary Rounds


The People’s Democratic Party (PDP) won both the constituencies of Bji-Katsho-Uesu and Sombaykha in Haa.

The former Opposition Leader (OL) and PDP’s President Tshering Tobgay representing Sombaykha constituency secured 1,346 votes of which 1,110 votes were cast through the Electronic Voting Machine (EVM) and 236 from postal ballots.

The former ruling party Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) secured only 390 votes of which 326 were cast through EVM and 64 from the postal ballots. Candidate Dago Tsheringla represented DPT from Sombaykha constituency.

Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) secured 86 votes of which 74 were from EVM and 12 were through postal ballots. Druk Chirwang Tshogpa (DCT) got 64 votes of which 60 were from EVM and 4 from postal ballots.

Former Health Ministry (MoH) Secretary Dr. Gado Tshering representing DPT lost to an Accounts Officer/Relationship manager, Kinley Om, PDP’s candidate from Bji-Katsho constituency.

PDP secured 1,313 votes of which 1,115 were through EVM and 198 from postal ballots whereas DPT got the 836 votes through 714 EVM votes and 122 postal ballots.

DNT secured 245 with 196 EVM votes and 49 postal ballots. DCT secured 152 votes (143through EVM and 9 from postal ballots).

Haa Dzongkhag has a total of 6,895 registered voters of which 3,813 are in the Bji-Katsho-Uesu constituency and 3,082 from Sombaykha.

The voter turnout for the Dzongkhag stands at 64.3%.


Thukten Zangpo

Check Also

Thimphu Thromde faces land tax collection dilemma amidst pending executive order

Dratshang, National Housing Development Corporation Limited, and Thimphu Thromde are the highest land and building …

One comment

  1. Dr Gado should have joined PDP so that he became Health Minister. Now he has lost but since he is very very sincere, dedicated, faithful to Tsawasum, I think, PDP cherintobgay & damcho should try to get him over to PDP so that he can become minister of health in case PDP wins general round.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *