RCSC sends 21 names for 7 Secretary slots to Cabinet

The Royal Civil Service Commission (RCSC) recently sent 21 names of Executive Level 2 and Executive Level 1 officials to the Cabinet.

The Cabinet which has received the 21 names is looking into the list and is expected to soon select its choice before sending the final names for official appointment to His Majesty The King as per Article 2 section 16 of the Constitution.

The Ex 1 would include positions like non constitutional Commission Secretaries like National Land Commission, Dratshang Lhentshog, Gross National Happiness Commission, National Environment Commission, Dzongkha Development Commission. This does not necessarily mean they are on the list.

Ex 2 includes mainly Director Generals and Dzongdas of which there are quite a few in the government.

Both the combined numbers of the Ex1 and Ex2 would be well over 50 meaning roughly around half the potential list was already eliminated by the RCSC.

A RCSC official on the condition of anonymity said that the 21 on the list had been selected based on their past performance, potential and suitability for the type of position to be vacated. The official said that an integrity check had also been done.

Around six secretaries will be retiring in total by the end of this month with a seventh one leaving on 7th July.

The ration of 21:7 has been to allow the cabinet to have a choice of three names for each post. So of the 21 the cabinet will select the final 7.

In an earlier interview, the Prime Minister Lyonchhen Tshering Tobgay talking about the type of secretaries that the government wants said, “We want secretaries who will be able to deliver the 11th five year plan and fulfill the objectives of the government.”

The cabinet will be looking for ‘performers’ given that the two most hectic years of the 11th five year plan is coming up and so some surprises are expected.

The seven secretaries finishing their terms are Home Secretary Dasho (Dr) Sonam Tenzin, Finance Secretary Lam Dorji, Information and Communications Secretary Dasho Kinley Dorji, Education Secretary Sangay Zam, Ministry of Labour and Human Resources Secretary Pema Wangda, Health Secretary Dorji Wangchuk and finally the Agriculture Secretary Tenzin Dhendup who has till 7th July.

Check Also

After losing Nu 192 mn in 3 years Govt ends Buy Back Scheme

During the initial stages of implementation of the Buy Back Scheme (BBS), in 2016, 2017, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *