Tsirang elects an entrepreneur

With a total of 2,825 votes, Dhan Kumar Sunwar won the Third Parliamentary Election for National Council from Tsirang. Of the 2,825 votes, 450 votes were secured through the Postal Ballot and 2,375 votes through EVM.

The 31-year-old graduated in 2013 from Gaeddu College of Business Studies with a Bachelor’s in Business Administration, and was an entrepreneur prior to contesting for the NC race.

“I’m still in my initial disbelief that I got elected among twelve of us, it must be due to my humbleness and simplicity that people chose me,” said Dhan Kumar Sunwar.

With the win, he said his priority area would be in boosting agricultural activity and mitigating the youth unemployment issues. “I’m very thankful to the supporters for giving me this opportunity to serve the Tsa-Wa-Su, which I will carry out, giving the fullest effort,” he added that he would work closely with the grassroots section and be the bridge between people and government.

Of the remaining eleven candidates, Nado Rinchen secured the second highest vote count with 1,401 votes followed by Nim Karma Sherpa with 1352, Kencho Wangmo with 1,117 votes, Lok Nath Tiwari with 1,100 votes, Ramesh Chettri Bandari with 1,105 votes.

Tashi Norbu scored 945 votes followed by Tara Bir Chuwan with 855 votes, Sangay Tamang secured 770 while Hom Nath Thapa secured 712 votes followed by Migma Dorji Lama with 674 votes and Sonam Tobgay secured 579 votes.

Check Also

Several companies registered with RSEB share dividends with shareholders

It is dividend season and several companies registered with the Royal Securities Exchange of Bhutan …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *