Thimphu League kicks off tomorrow

The 12th Thimphu League 2012 will kick off from 2 pm tomorrow at the Royal Bhutan Police (RBP) grounds.

A total of six Thimphu based clubs, Drukpol FC, Dzongric FC, Nangpa FC, Yeedzin, TU FC and Zimdra FC will be playing for the league title.

Each team has 30 registered members including the president and the vice president of the club managed by individual person especially the businessmen.

The winner of the top three clubs will contest in the National League tournament which will take place from December 2012 till February 2013.

A total of three teams, depending on the points they score, will be selected for the National League and contest with the qualified National League clubs from Samdrup Jongkhar, Phuentsholing, Punakha and Gelephu.

The  Thimphu League  championship will take away the Thimphu League Trophy and the bottom two of the A division team of the Thimphu League will play relegation match with the top two teams of the B division.

The football match for the B division team was completed in June this year and has selected top two teams who will play after the completion of the Thimphu League this October.

The month-long football match will provide opportunities and promote football matches in the country.

According to Sonam Jigmi from competition Department, BFF, organizing such football matches in the country would help them identify the potential national players and also keep football going to develop the game in Bhutan in line with the long term goal of the BFF.

He also said that it’s a very good opportunity for the national players to keep themselves fit.

The Thimphu League 2012 is organized and supported by the Bhutan Football Federation (BFF) and this is the twelfth time it will be organized.

Check Also

203 Community Service Centers with 191 employees but many systems not working properly

Radhi Sakteng MP, Tashi Tenzin, during the Question Hour session of the 15th Sitting of …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *