Former Journalist wins the NC race from Dagana

33 year old Surjaman Thapa won the NC election from Dagana with 2,636 total votes. Of the total 2,636 votes, 1,794 votes was secured through EVM and 842 votes through postal ballot.

He said that the people of Dagana had full confidence upon him which is the reason for his win. “I am very delighted with the result and at the same time I have a strong feeling that I have the responsibility to serve my people”

As promised during the campaign, he said that he shall focus on the research and development and shall prioritize on making the 12th five year plan a successful one.

He added that he shall closely monitor the developmental activities in dzongkhags so that the government effort and public benefit fits in well.  “With blessing from our almighty, King and support from people, I’m very grateful for having this opportunity to serve the Tsa-Wa-Sum”

He has nine years of work experience with the Bhutan Broadcasting Service as a journalist and holds a Bachelor of Arts in Mass Communication and Journalism.

Among the other nine candidates, Birendra Chimoria got the second highest vote with 2,394 total votes followed by Dawa Rigyel with 1,975 votes, Kuenzang Gyeltshen with 1,115 votes, and Tenzin Samdrup with 1,107 votes.

Suraj Pradhan scored 1,091 votes followed by San Man Gurung with 1,060 votes, Sangay Thinley with 853 votes and Wangdi got 801 votes.

Check Also

PDP wins Bumthang but is not complacent

People’s Democratic Party (PDP) has emerged victorious in Bumthang, securing both seats with a total …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *