PDP & DNT in Gasa

People’s Democratic Party (PDP) received the majority of the postal ballot (PB) votes from both the constituencies, Khamed Lunana and Khatoed Laya, in Gasa. The dzongkhag also favoured Druk Nyamrup Tshogpa (DNT) during the Primary Round of the National Assembly Election 2018.

In Khamed Lunana constituency, PDP a total of 339 votes (274 votes from the Electronic Voting Mechine (EVM) + 65 PB). While DNT won 198 votes (155 EVM +43 PB), Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) got 107 votes (97 EVM + 10 PB). Bhutan Kuen-Nyam Party (BKP) managed 48 votes by EVM and 17 PB taking the total votes to 65.

Tenzin from Khatoed Laya constituency secured 376 votes by EVM and 31 PB for his party DNT. PDP got 215 votes by EVM and 63 PB. DPT secured 75 votes by EVM and 10 PB and BKP got 39 votes by EVM and 11 PB

Tenzin said, “Honestly, I did not imagine that DNT will win over DPT and PDP, the two strongest political parties in Bhutan, given their advantages as ruling party and opposition party. In general election, I am confident that DNT will form the government because voters will not vote for DPT.”

He said, “Voters today are much more educated and informed, and I believe that voters would vote for the right party and the right candidates.”

Check Also

EV owners face challenges with high maintenance cost and fewer charging stations

Bhutan is taking a step towards a low-emission transport system, introduced Electric Vehicles (EV). However, …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *