PDP wins all of two seats in Samdrup Jongkhar

The outcomes of the primary elections saw a role reversal as voters handed the very two constituencies which it gave to Druk Phuensum Tshogpa (DPT) in 2008, to People’s Democratic Party (PDP) this time. PDP won the two seats in Samdrup Jongkhar with vast difference in votes pushing the party to victory in Dewathang-Gomdar and Jomotshangkha-Martshala.

PDP’s candidate Mingbo Drukpa secured 3,970 from Dewathang-Gomdar constituency of which 2,916 votes were from the electronic voting machine (EVM) and 1,054 came through postal ballots. The total registered number of voters in Dewathang-Gomdar is 12,330, of which 7,564 exercised their franchise.

The DPT candidate and former MP Ugyen Dorji secured 3,594, of which 2,916 came through EVM and 1,054 from postal ballots.

The PDP also prevailed in Jomotshangkha –Martshala constituency, where its candidate Pelzang Wangchuk secured 3,171 votes from a total of 2,303 EVM votes and 868 postal ballots.

Norbu Wangzom, the former MP of the constituency and DPT candidate, secured 1,892 from EVM and 566 through postal ballot.

The total registered voters in Jomotshangkha –Martshala is 9,566, of which 5,629 cast their votes.

Call it a change in voters’ taste or probably their outlook, but all in all, the people of the country gave a majority win to the PDP in the second parliamentary elections which concluded yesterday. PDP won in 32 constituencies and DPT reserved the remaining 15.

Check Also

Upper Kheng residents struggle with persistent tiger attacks

Residents of Shingkhar Gewog in Upper Kheng, under Zhemgang District, find themselves in a relentless …

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *